Skip to main content


Diverse group of people holding their hands together, one wearing a VOLUNTEER t-shirt, representing teamwork and collaboration

CJI's board represents a cross-section of our community and has a passion for our organization and mission. Board members work hard to guide the organization and ensure its long-term sustainability.

Interested in serving on CJI's board? The application period typically runs January-March each year. For more information, visit the Join Our Board page.

Board of Directors 2023-24

  • Don Samuels, Polsinelli

    Board Chair

  • Thor Nelson, Holland & Hart


  • Keo Frazier, KEOS Marketing LLC | New Thinkers


  • Jeff George, Berkeley Research Group


  • Hon. James “Jay” Breese, Denver County Court (retired)
  • Michael Dabbs, Gill Foundation
  • Nicholas DeWeese, Venable
  • Faye Diamond, RBI Strategies & Research
  • Kelley Duke, Ireland Stapleton Pryor & Pascoe
  • Nickolas Fogel, Burg Simpson Eldredge Hersh & Jardine
  • Lori Halverson, Vistage Chair | The Halverson Group
  • Eric Hilty, Tuff Shed
  • Hon. Gary M. Jackson, Denver County Court (retired)
  • Hon. Sueanna P. Johnson, Colorado Court of Appeals
  • Matthew Johnson, Dowd Bennett
  • Gregg Kantz, DSST Green Valley Ranch Middle School
  • Hon. Priscilla “PJ” Loew, 17th Judicial District
  • Hon. Cynthia Mares, 18th Judicial District (retired)
  • Britton Nohe-Braun
  • David Olsky, Fortis Law Partners
  • Chris Oltyan, Compliable
  • Patrick O'Rourke, University of Colorado
  • Christopher Reeves, Waltz | Reeves
  • Kathryn Reilly, Wheeler Trigg O'Donnell
  • V. William Scarpato III, U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Colorado
  • Alexander Sediva
  • Michael Siebecker, University of Denver, Sturm College of Law
  • Eliza Steinberg, Griffiths Law
  • Ben Strawn, Davis Graham & Stubbs
  • Azra Taslimi, Rathod | Mohamedbhai
  • Ryan Urbach, Canvas Credit Union
  • Valorie Waldon, Employers Council
  • Hon. Elizabeth A. Weishaupl, JAMS Denver
  • Thomas Werge, Werge Law Group
  • Gwyneth Whalen, Caplan & Earnest

Emeriti Directors

  • Hon. Russell Carparelli, AB Conflict Resolution Services & Colorado Court of Appeals (retired)
  • Marilyn Chappell, Gordon Rees Scully Mansukhani
  • Mark Clouatre, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough
  • George Dikeou, COPIC Companies (retired)
  • Selena Dunham, Classique
  • Mark Fogg, Childs McCune
  • Hon. Richard Gabriel, Colorado Supreme Court
  • Michael Gallagher, Davis Graham & Stubbs
  • K.C. Groves, Ireland Stapleton Pryor & Pascoe
  • John Grow, LawToolBox
  • Sheila Gutterman, Griffiths Law (retired)
  • Hon. Robert Hawthorne, Colorado Court of Appeals (retired)
  • Hon. Robert Kapelke, Judicial Arbiter Group & Colorado Court of Appeals (retired)
  • Hon. Lynn Karowsky, Weld County Court (retired)
  • Peter Koclanes, Sherman & Howard
  • Hon. Lino Lipinsky de Orlov, Colorado Court of Appeals
  • Gary Lozow, Foster Graham Milstein & Calisher
  • Hon. Gale Miller, Colorado Court of Appeals (retired)
  • Robert Miller, Perkins Coie (retired)
  • Michael O’Donnell, Wheeler Trigg O’Donnell
  • Barbara Randell, Future Image Group
  • Shannon Stevenson, Colorado Attorney General’s Office
  • Ralph Torres, The Law Office of Ralph G. Torres

Special note:  In 2023, CJI lost board member Jon Goldberg and emeriti directors Larry DeMuth and Bob Ewegen. All three men served CJI with distinction and they were memorialized at the CJI gala dinner in October 2023.

Note: Lists updated as of May 1, 2024.