Skip to main content

Judicial Excellence Awards

Judge's gavel against a backgroup of the Colorado state flag

Each year since 2000, CJI's Judicial Excellence Awards have recognized the work of outstanding Colorado district court judges, county court judges, and magistrates. Click here for past awardees.

The awards are based on nominations from their peers in the judiciary, court staff, attorneys, and others familiar with the work of the court system. Awardees are celebrated at CJI's Judicial Excellence for Colorado Gala Dinner each fall. 

Award criteria reflect the high standards of Colorado's judicial system, including but not limited to:

  • Efficiently, expeditiously, and objectively managing cases and dockets while remaining in firm control of activities within the courtroom.
  • Displaying a high level of open communication and a demeanor and attitude that makes the courts accessible to all.
  • Being an innovator who is creative in dealing with courtroom processes

In addition, nominees shall have served at minimum: 

  • District Court Judge nominees: three years of full-time experience on the District Court bench.
  • County Court Judge nominees: three years of experience as judicial officers in the state court system and can be either part-time or full-time judges.
  • Magistrate nominees: three years of part-time or full-time experience on the bench.

CJI strives to ensure that the Judicial Excellence Awards reflect all of Colorado, including our state’s geographic, ethnic, sexual orientation, and gender diversity.

Submit a Nomination

Award nominations are typically accepted January through early May in any given year. The deadline this year was May 5, 2023.